The first social event: Arouca’2010

During my early years as a researcher, my former supervisors had the habit of organizing social events with their research teams, bringing together lab co-workers in different settings. In my opinion that contributed to create a great work environment and when I had the responsibility to head my own research group, I’ve decided to organize a few events each year, including birthday’s celebrations and at least one distinct daily activity per year.

During the 2009/2010 academic year, I’ve invited my recently formed research group, composed of 4 PhD students, to spend a day in my hometown, Arouca. The itinerary involved some hiking in the river trails follows by a picnic in the mountains plateau, a visit to the ruins of the tungsten mines and dinner in Arouca oldtown.

Hiking to the botton of Mizarela waterfall, Arouca
Hiking to the botton of Mizarela waterfall, Arouca
At the botton of Portugal longest waterfall
At the botton of Portugal longest waterfall
In the ruins of World War II Tungsten mines of Arouca
In the ruins of World War II Tungsten mines of Arouca
Still with energy for another hike (almost at the end of the day, in Arouca mountains)
Still with energy for another hike (almost at the end of the afternoon, in Arouca mountains)
