Joana Bento PhD graduation

Joana Bento was the first PhD student that I co-supervised and was part of the 4 PhD students that help me start-up my research group.   Her PhD project aimed to explore the molecular mechanisms involved in the packaging of Staphylococcus aureus patogenecity islands, an important virulent factor of this common human pathogen. Less than 1 year after arriving to my lab, Joana left to Virginia Commonwealth University (Richmond, USA), where she would join the lab of professor Gail Christie, the expert on Joana’s PhD theme. During her time in Richmond, Joana fell in love with portrait photography and after concluding her PhD she decided to invest in a new exciting project. I wish the best luck to Joana  in her futures endeavours, and thank her for her contributions to my research group and to the scientific field of molecular biology of Staphylococcus aureus .

[Photos by Sónia Bento]

